Hello World!

by doctorquinn

Welcome! to my Worlds! This site will accompany the progress on my upcoming book, Between Piety and Deisre: Ignatius J. Reilly and His World. According to the book proposal, it is to be a socio-cultural analysis of the New Orleans of John Kennedy Toole’s A Confederacy of Dunces (1982), around the time the book  was set and written–the late 1950s and 1960s. I am going back to the well of Mikael Bakhtin Rabelais and His World  for the book’s intellectual framework. It will include a photo essay of Ignatius’s world. I plan to go to New Orleans July 10th to take some photos, have some photos taken, and suckle at the breast of New Orleans culture for a few weeks just as hurricane season settles in. The book is to be published by Mellen Press. If I stick to the schedule, I should have the manuscript done by the end of October, which I hope means the end of December.

So far, I’m still in the research phase. I haven’t written word one. But don’t fear, the book  may be long in coming, but it won’t be long. I keep getting little letters and missives and what-nots from the publisher telling me what to do. These communications suggest they’re taking this seriously.

Check here once in awhile for progress reports.

