Butterfly In The Typewriter

by doctorquinn

This biography about John Kennedy Toole is pretty good. Once in awhile Cory MacLauchlin waxes too poetic for a biography for my tastes, but overall it’s good. I’m just getting to the part that describes Toole’s mental illness. It’s called “Decline and Fall,” which is the title of one of Evelyn Waugh’s novels. Waugh was one of Toole’s favorite writers, and he’s also one of mine. The economy of their prose is similar. I haven’t figured out what the book title means, but I might have missed it. I started the book about a month ago, and put it down to get my summer online courses ready. https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/5/53/Evelyndeclineandfall.jpg/180px-Evelyndeclineandfall.jpg Here’s a pic of the first edition of Waugh’s Decline and Fall, which was his first novel.

